top of page

the big question 💗

Hey girls! I’ve been thinking about this topic lately, so I decided to finally write my thoughts down and share it with you all. It’s not what I normally post on here, like pics of fashion inspo, but I hope it will still inspire you and help you all understand a big reason behind everything I do :)


So, let’s talk about standards. Particularly as in, how do we decide what we wear and what we don’t?


Like when you’re shopping or putting together an outfit, what factors do you think of (or do you think of any?) when you decide if an outfit is okay or appropriate enough to wear? For example, lower cut shirts, short skirts/dresses, crop tops, swimsuits, all that kind of stuff.


Now, I’m still thinking about all this myself so it’s a bit hard for me to understand on WHY exactly it matters, and how that should play out. But if you’ve looked at the fashion inspiration and my outfits here on the site or my inspo pages, you might notice they are different than some other girls pages.


For myself, I tend to not wear really low cut tops, super short skirts (normally mine are just a few inches above my knees), really short or extremely loose shorts, or anything that shows my stomach. I don’t wear bikinis either. So because I don’t wear those things (and because my parents have asked me not to and have set guidelines for me as well), I try not to post too much of the things I wouldn’t wear either. (which means if you DO see something like any of those that I don’t tend to wear on my posts, it’s usually not because I would wear it but rather for inspiration of something similar but more appropriate I would wear lol)


I’m sure the majority of you probably think some of the things that I mentioned I don’t wear are perfectly fine. They’re just really cute, right? A chance to show off how your curves or how tan you are. And if I’m being completely honest, that’s kind of what I feel like too. I don’t pick out outfits thinking “oh I bet so-and-so will look at me and think that’s a pretty outfit or that I look hot”, I pick it out because I genuinely just like it myself and I think it’s cute.


But even though I feel like that a lot of the time, I’m starting to realize that I need to have another view on clothing standards and why I wear what I wear, too. Aside from just thinking “i’m not gonna wear that because i’m just not comfortable in that or I don’t like how it looks on me”, I think we should consider other things too. The WHY—why we choose what to and what not to wear.


So, I thought it might be cool to open this topic up for discussion on the blog! It is a fashion blog after all, and especially with my clothing line coming out soon, I thought it’d be very interesting to hear all of your girls' thoughts. I was even thinking about asking a few girls I know to write posts on their whole thought process when they choose what they’re going to wear, because it’s such an interesting topic to me!


But anyway, I would LOVE to hear all of your opinions and ideas. Let’s talk about it in the comments—why do you wear what you wear, do you have a “standard” of what you would or wouldn’t wear, and what’s your motive when you pick out an outfit? It’s ok if you don’t know all the answers (I definitely don’t lol) but it might be interesting for us to all talk about it and maybe develop some ideas. 😊


Love,

Glo 💗

9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page