top of page

8 ways to wear a pencil skirt

Pencil skirts are one of my favorite types of skirts. They can be worn with a nice shirt to make you look fancy and businesslike, or else you can wear them with a tee and be comfy, but super cute at the same time. The ones I tend to like are the stretchy, jersey fabric ones.


Yesterday I wore a pencil skirt to church (OOTD: black, stretchy, knee length pencil skirt; pale pink tank top with some fancy design on the neckline; dusty pink cardigan; and sandals like these), and so it got me thinking of different outfits I could use it in. I was looking for ideas on Pinterest, and then decided I might as well just put everything I thought was cute in a blog post! So let's start.


With a crop sweatshirt -- out of all the outfits, I think this one may be my fave. High-waisted pencil skirt + cute, bright colored crop top + sandals = 😍😍😍


With a knotted tee -- again, you can get one that's high-waisted and pair it with a casual tee, maybe with some little graphic or words. And off course, adding shoes like Converse or Vans immediately gives you that "I look super cute and comfy and casual all at once" vibe.


As a suspender skirt -- So this one isn't exactly just a pencil skirt, but it is still super adorable!! Pair a bright, colorful skirt, maybe with a pattern on it, with a simple top and shoes, so the skirt pops!


As an athletic skirt -- I loveee this one too. You can look cute and sporty at the same time.


With a cardigan -- I know this isn't exactly a cardigan, but the other pics with them weren't as nice. With this type of outfit, you could wear it casually with shoes like in the pic, or else you can switch the shoes for something nicer like sandals or flats, and voila, you're wearing a nice fancy outfit!


With a slit -- Get yourself a midi pencil skirt with a slit, and you can wear it however you want. Casual, comfy, fancy, etc. See, the thing I like about these skirts is that they're so comfortable, and you can literally wear it for any occasion, all you have to do is switch shoes!


With a denim jacket -- get a basic tee, a denim jacket, and any colored or patterned pencil skirt, and you'll be looking hot and ready to go!


With a normal tee -- make an easy outfit by just wearing your favorite tee shirt and pair of shoes. You can tuck it in, have it long, tie it in a knot, wear it crop, whatever you want! These skirts can be so multi-functional and easy to pair anything with!


Well that was 8 ways to wear a pencil skirt! Let me know in the comments if you would wear any of those outfits, and which were your favorites.


Also, let me know what you think of this! Do you like "how to wear {item}" type posts? If you do, then I'd love if you comment what pieces of clothing or outfits you'd like to see styled next :)


Love y'all!! 💓


4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page